The challenge of our generation

The challenge of our generation
Two interviews by Giada Benesperi

“With cities, it is as with dreams. Everything imaginable can be dreamed, but even the most unexpected dream is a rebus that conceals a desire, or its reverse, a fear. Cities, like dreams, are made of desires and fears.” (Italo Calvino, Invisible Cities).

Moving abroad. The dream of many University students. Both a dream and a fear. Why a fear? Going abroad means leaving your family, your native country, your friends, your world. It is a brave choice. It is not for everyone.

I interviewed two friends of mine about their decision to study and work abroad. I think their answers may be very useful for those wanting to leave their native country. It is organized here as a double interview, one question a time with each person’s answers. I hope some of you will find them helpful.

A big thank to Eleonora and Daniela for helping out.

Question 3

What are you researching in Birmingham?
Eleonora: I am doing a PhD in Chemical Engineering, but I am studying something which is quite similar to what I studied during my graduation thesis, the field is still that of biosensors.
How did your life change after your PhD abroad?
Daniela: After my 3 years of PhD studies, I started looking for a postdoc, again abroad. I originally wanted to go to the USA. I tried very hard to find a position there, but I hadn’t realized that the biggest problem was the fact that I needed to find somebody ready not only to pay my salary, but also to sponsor my VISA. This is very hard – it was even harder in 2012/2013 – and I unfortunately did not succeed. While looking for my postdoc, I accepted a lecturing position in an Institute of Technology in Ireland. My 6 months as an Assistant Lecturer were a great experience, but I was missing research and I therefore moved to England as soon as I found a postdoc. Unfortunately, my postdoc experience was short. After accepting the position, I soon realized that I was not happy in that laboratory and I was offered a better position as a Research Scientist in a very good and dynamic Synthetic Biology start-up company here in London. I am working there at the moment and every day is a new challenge.

This entry was posted in Post-graduation Opportunities & Experiences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment